Use Server Snapshots to Back Up and Restore a 1&1 Cloud Server

Table of Contents

Introduction

Server snapshots are a quick, easy, short-term way to back up and restore a 1&1 Cloud Server. Snapshots are free to create and use. They are automatically deleted after 72 hours.

Snapshots are the ideal solution if you plan to perform an extensive procedure such as testing a software and wish to restore the original system state.

Requirements

  • A 1&1 Cloud Server (any operating system)

Create a Snapshot

To create a snapshot, log in to your 1&1 Cloud Panel and go to Infrastructure > Servers.

Cloud Panel

Select your server, then click Actions.

Select server

Select Snapshots > Create Snapshot

Create snapshot

A pop-up message about the snapshot will appear. Click Yes to create the snapshot.

Create snapshot

After the snapshot has been created, information about it will be displayed on the server's information section.

Create snapshot

Note: Snapshots will be automatically deleted three days after they are created. Snapshots are not a long-term solution for backing up your data.

Restore a Snapshot

Note: Snapshots will be automatically deleted three days after they are created. Snapshots are not a long-term solution for backing up your data.

To restore a server from a snapshot, log in to your 1&1 Cloud Panel and go to Infrastructure > Servers.

Cloud Panel

Select your server, then click Actions.

Select server

Select Snapshots > Restore Snapshot

Restore snapshot

A pop-up message about the snapshot will appear. Click Yes to restore the snapshot.

Restore snapshot

Delete a Snapshot

Each server can only have one snapshot at a time. If you wish to create a new snapshot while the old one is still available, you will need to first delete the old snapshot.

To delete a snapshot, log in to your 1&1 Cloud Panel and click Infrastructure > Servers.

Cloud Panel

Select your server, then click Actions.

Select server

Select Snapshots > Delete Snapshot

Delete snapshot

A pop-up message about the snapshot will appear. Click Yes to delete the snapshot.

Delete snapshot

Comments

Tags: Backup